

2 April 2025 - Media release

Ming-chun Wu elected as Chair of the Pharmacy Council - Te Pou Whakamana Kaimatū o Aotearoa

Ming-chun Wu was elected as the new Pharmacy Council Chair in the recent March Council meeting, with Mariana Hudson elected as Deputy Chair.

Ming-chun has previously held the role of Pharmacy Council Deputy Chair for eighteen months and brings a new perspective to the Council through her background in education and her significant governance experience, including being on the regulatory boards of the Medical Council and the Chinese Medicine Council of New Zealand.

"I'm looking forward to leading the Council through the next year, with a focus on how occupational regulation can best sit within the health system to protect public health and safety," said Ming-chun Wu, newly elected Chair of the Pharmacy Council.

"I know some of you may have concerns that I am not a pharmacist. That's understandable. But my role as Chair is not to be the technical expert, as that expertise is already strongly embedded in the Council, its committees, and within the profession itself. My role is to provide strong governance, ensuring public safety throughout the profession while maintaining the Pharmacy Council's independence and integrity," she said.

Michael Pead, Chief Executive of the Pharmacy Council, believes that the time is right for a Chair with proven governance experience.

"Clinical expertise will always remain at the heart of everything we do, but a particular strength of our Council is the range of skills and competencies we have around the table. Ming-chun brings a wider public perspective to the role of Chair, which will help us to protect the public by making sure pharmacists are competent and fit to practise," he said.

- Ends-

Background

The election of Chair and Deputy Chair is held at the beginning of each year and is a statutory requirement under the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003. While Council members are appointed by the Minister of Health, Council members are responsible for electing the Chair and Deputy Chair positions from within Council. The Council has eight members made up of six pharmacists and two lay members.

More information on Ming-Chun Wu, Mariana Hudson and the rest of the Council can be found on the Council Members page of the Pharmacy Council website (<u>Council members-Pharmacy Council NZ - Public Site</u>)