

November 2021

Media release

New appointments to Pharmacy Council board

New appointments to the Pharmacy Council board see it well-placed to continue its role in ensuring high standards of competence in pharmacy, and safe and effective pharmacist practice, chief executive Michael Pead says.

Associate Minister of Health, Hon Aupito William Sio, has appointed three new members to the board. Their appointments, along with reappointing two members for further terms and three existing members, mean the Pharmacy Council will have a full complement of excellent and highly qualified governors.

Michael Pead says the Pharmacy Council has a well-defined strategic plan and has been working hard to ensure that it's delivered.

"The diversity of its board and the qualifications and expertise in the new team will be invaluable in further guiding and directing Council in its mahi."

The new members are:

- Dr Amy Chan,
- Mariana Hudson and
- Natalia Nu'u.

Arthur Bauld and Michelle Lomax have been reappointed for further terms. Ahmad Zareh, Katrina Azer and Ming-chun Wu are existing members.

"Council is fortunate to have such a diverse set of highly skilled and competent governors to lead its regulatory work. Congratulations to our new appointees, and to Arthur and Michelle on their reappointment."

Michael Pead says the new members effectively fill the two vacancies on the board and Dr Jeff Harrison's position, given his term ended in September 2021.

Dr Harrison has served on the Council board for just on nine years and has made an enormous contribution as a member, and in his last term as Chair.

"We sincerely thank Jeff who has been a consummate leader and has always guided us through some hard decisions and this has invariably ensured that the best interests of the public we serve are at the forefront. His hard work and his absolute professionalism in guiding and directing Council has been enormous and superlative."

The Chair of Council and the Chief Executive, on behalf of the existing Council members and the operational team wish to acknowledge and welcome the newly appointed members to Council.

Nau mai, haere mai, ki ngā mema hou o Te Pou Whakamana Kaimatū o Aotearoa. Tēnei te mihi mahana, te mihi maioha, te mihi manahau, ki a koutou katoa. Ānei tō whānau hou mō ngā mahi e heke mai nei. Mauri ora

Full biographies of the new members will be placed on the Council website in the next few days.