Response to public consultation on standards
Thank you to all the groups and individuals who have responded to the public consultations.

We consulted publicly on three proposed updates to standards between August and October 2022:

  1. Aotearoa NZ (New Zealand) Accreditation Standards and Guidance for Pharmacy Programmes
  2. Competence Standards and Guidance for the Pharmacy Profession in Aotearoa New Zealand
  3. Pharmacist Prescriber Competence Standards and Guidance

Over 46 responses and submissions were received from pharmacy professional groups, non-pharmacy groups and individuals.

The feedback and suggestions have been collated, analysed and discussed with the respective expert advisory and working groups and advisors.

Consultation was one of several stages of engagement to finalise the updated standards, which are now in their final stages of development. The next steps include a review by our Te Tiriti Advisory Group and then seeking approval from Council members.

The outcomes and the details of when and how these documents will be implemented will be published in early 2023.

Table 1: Public consultation and expert advisory input to new standards
Initiative No. of responses received Expert group and additional advisors
Accreditation 12 Prof John Shaw, Prof Te Kani Kingi, Dr Kyle Wilby, Adele Print

Additional advisors: Jane Von Dadelszen, Mahanga Maru, Prof Zubin Austin

Pharmacist competence standards 18 Lisa Kremer, Kylie Head, Belinda Robinson, Dr Linda Bryant, Prof Michael Dooley, Prof Dominic O’Sullivan

Advisors to Council: Dr Sanya Ram, Prof Amanda Wheeler, Hana Meinders-Sykes

Pharmacist prescriber competence standards 16 Penny Clark, Truc Nguyen, Dr Tara Officer, Brendan Duck

Advisors to Council: Pauline McQuoid, Hana Meinders-Sykes










TOTAL: 46 responses and submissions